New beginnings

I have to address the obvious fact that this blog has seriously fallen into disuse, primarily because I am no longer in school. Without the excitement of “check-out-what-I-read-for/learned-in-class-today” or “found-this-while-researching-my-seminar-paper-in-the-archives,” I honestly haven’t been inspired very much to blog. Don’t get me wrong–there have been a number of things that I’ve really wanted to write about, but it just never seemed to jive with how I originally conceived of this blog as a place to talk about library history. I’m still very interested in this topic, but am no longer actively engaged in historical research (perhaps this will change soon?).

My school-day pursuits in the realm of library history have since been replaced by my professional pursuits: searching and applying for jobs, attending and presenting at professional conferences, keeping up with the goings-on of other archivists at their institutions via twitter, blogs, listservs, etc. — you get the picture. In navigating the world of professional archivists, finally feeling as though I AM a professional archivist, there have been a number of interesting debates, topics, presentations, projects that I’ve wanted to engage with through this blog, but was always held back by my narrow conception of what this blog is. Well, I say, NO MORE. Starting with this post. And continuing with another one soon after. And so on until it becomes more natural for me to join those conversations through this medium (while still inserting the occasional library history factoid, find, or musing, of course).

So stay tuned for an upcoming post in which I plan to reflect on my time in library school, inspired by last week’s Hack Library School Day in the Life (#HLSDITL)!

About Sami Norling

MA History/MLS, Indiana University, Indianapolis - Archivist at the Indianapolis Museum of Art and fledgling library historian, blogging about all things related to the history of libraries/archives and current innovations in the LIS profession. Opinions are my own.
This entry was posted in Library Historian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

